The LIVE Award

A Leader In EndoVascular EducationThe LIVE award has recognized those vascular specialists who have dedicated their professional careers to educating students, post-graduate trainees, and peers in all aspects of vascular medicine and intervention. Please join us in General Session on Tuesday, September 12 at 9:05 AM in the Global Theater to congratulate this year's winner of the LIVE Award.

VIVA is proud to honor the 2017 recipient

Thomas Zeller, MD

  Dr. Thomas Zeller is a major contributor to current therapeutic concepts in vascular disease management. His work has helped to shape our approach to stenting, atherectomy, and drug coated balloon angioplasty for lower extremity revascularization. He is a Professor and Head of Department of Clinical and Interventional Angiology at the University of Freiburg in Bad Krozingen, Germany. He has more than 20 years of experience in interventional angiology. His research interests include optimization of endovascular therapy methods of peripheral arterial occlusive disease and noninvasive diagnostic methods in vascular medicine. He has performed a series of studies in these areas and has conducted numerous clinical trials and has authored some of the seminal papers in our field. Furthermore he is editorial board member of various scientific journals, including; VASA, EUROIntervention, Vascular Medicine, Catheterization Cardiovascular Interventions, Journal of Endovascular Therapy and reviewer for European Heart Journal, Journal of American College of Cardiology, Circulation and, The Lancet. He is the author of more than 200 peer reviewed original and review articles, editor of the textbook Vascular Medicine. Dr. Zeller has taught endovascular therapy around the world, and we are honored to have him as this year’s LIVE Award recipient.

Previous Live Award Recipients

  • 2016 - Mark Bates, MD - Interventional Cardiology
  • 2015 - Timothy Sullivan, MD - Vascular Surgery
  • 2014 - J. Michael Bacharach, MD - Vascuar Medicine
  • 2013 – John Laird Jr., MD -  Interventional Cardiologist
  • 2012 - Michael Dake, MD - Interventional Radiology
  • 2011 - Mark Wholey, MD - Interventional Radiology
  • 2010 - Michael R. Jaff, DO - Vascular Medicine
  • 2009 - Gary Ansel, MD - Interventional Cardiology
  • 2008 - Edward Diethrich, MD - Cardiovascular Surgery
  • 2007 - L. Nelson Hopkins III, MD - Neurosurgery
  • 2006 - Barry Katzen, MD - Interventional Radiology
  • 2005 - Kenneth Rosenfield, MD - Interventional Cardiology