The ATLAS Award

A Teacher, Leader, And, Scholar Award - The ATLAS award has celebrated the career and impact of physicians who have distinguished themselves as scholars and leaders in their respective vascular fields. They have committed their careers to advancing care of patients with vascular disorders, and have taught countless numbers of physicians techniques to expand care across the United States and the World. Please stay tuned as we reveal the 2016 ATLAS award recipient.

VIVA is proud to honor the 2016 recipient

Thom Rooke, MD

ThomRookeMD Dr. Thom Rooke obtained a BS in Physiology at the University of Michigan and an MD at Johns Hopkins School of Medicine.  After completing Internal Medicine and Cardiovascular Medicine residencies at Mayo Clinic, he joined the Vascular Medicine section at Mayo.  Dr. Rooke is the former Head of the Section of Vascular Medicine and founder of the Mayo Clinic Wound Care Center.  He is currently the Krehbiel Professor of Vascular Medicine Dr. Rooke serves on a number of national boards, committees, and societies.  He is Past-President of both the Intersocietal Commission for the Accreditation of Vascular Laboratories (ICAVL) and the Society for Vascular Medicine. Dr. Rooke's interests include medical writing and the art of the medical lecture.

Past Recipients

  • 2015 - Gary S. Roubin, MD
  • 2014 - Barry T. Katzen, MD
  • 2013 – Jerry Goldstone, MD
  • 2012 – John Spittell, MD
  • 2011 - Giancarlo Biamino, MD, PhD
  • 2010 - Ernest Ring, MD
  • 2009 – Jess Young, MD
  • 2008 – Norman Hertzer, MD