Fellows and Residents Sessions

COVID-19 Update: VIVA and The VEINS will continue as scheduled in November. We will provide updated information as it becomes available. Read more here.

Watch leading interventionists discuss the ongoing effects of COVID-19

Additional resources for the endovascular community

VIVA's 2020 physicians-in-training program will provide a series of sessions designed to enhance your skill set as a vascular specialist and personal growth as an early-career professional. All program attendees will compete in the Face-Off competition, where participants present original research or interesting cases, followed by Q&A from VIVA's expert faculty.

Eligibility criteria for U.S. physicians:

- All current 1st- or 2nd-year fellows in interventional radiology, cardiology, interventional cardiology, vascular medicine, or vascular surgery

- All residents in PG 1-5 vascular surgery or PG 1-5 interventional radiology

Please note, diagnostic radiology and general surgery fellowships are ineligible for this program.

Applications for VIVA's 2020 Physicians in Training program will open this summer. For more information or to be added to our mailing list, email Christopher Ebbe at cebbe@vivaphysicians.org.


VIVA19 is thrilled to honor our 3 Face-Off Winners:

Winner: Deanna Yamamura, DO

Dr Yamamura is currently a general cardiology fellow at Corpus Christi Medical Center (Corpus Christi, TX), interested in pursuing additional training in interventional cardiology. She is a graduate of A.T. Still Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine (MO).

Runner up: Ankeet Bhatt, MD

Dr Bhatt is a clinical fellow in cardiology at the Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School, whose training began with combined MD/MBA program at the University of Connecticutand was followed by a general internal medicine residency at the Duke University Hospital in Durham, North Carolina. Dr Bhatt is interested in a career in clinical research and clinical trials across the spectrum of cardiovascular care, including heart failure and interventional cardiology. Dr Bhatt would like to thank many of the mentors at Duke University, the Brigham and Women's Hospital and the Massachusetts General Hospital for their continued guidance and support of my career.

Third place: Eudoro Jorge Orozco, MD

Born and raised in San Diego, California, Dr Orozco currently practices in Guadalajara, Jalisco, Mexico. After attending medical school at the Autonomous University of Guadalajara, he completed general surgery. Currently in his second year as a vascular surgeon resident at the University of Guadalajara, he also works in the private sector as part of the surgical team for Vascular Health at San Javier Hospital and part of Vascularis in Puerto Vallarta. Dr Orozco is currently placed at Emory University completing a residency there. In his spare time, he enjoys mountain climbing and hiking.


Winner: Luai Tabaza, MD

Runner up: Andrew Niekamp, MD

Registration and Scholarships

REGISTRATION IS NOW CLOSED. Please check back in early summer 2020 for additional information.

VIVA is especially thankful for our 2019 scholarship supporters:

BD (formerly Bard Peripheral Vascular)

Boston Scientific

Cardiovascular Systems, Inc.

Cook Medical

HCA Healthcare



Philips IGT